HistoryIn 1901 it was obvious that the workers of the Chorro Falls and Gaitanejo Falls needed a walkway to cross between the falls, to provide transport of materials, vigilance and maintenance of the channel. Construction of the walkway took four years; it was finished in 1905.
In 1921 the king Alfonso XIII crossed the walkway for the inauguration of the dam Conde del Guadalhorce and it became known by its present name.
1999 and 2000, the local government closed the entrances. However, adventurous tourists still find their way onto the walkway to explore it.
The regional government of Andalusia budgeted in 2006 for a restoration plan estimated at € 7 million.
All text in this post is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License.